NTC Logo


About Us

NATIONAL TECHNOLOGY COUNCIL ( NTC ), is the body delegated by Higher Education Commission (HEC) under sub-section (e) of section 10, of the ordinance No LIII of 2002,dated 11th September 2002 and HEC No.19-3 /HEC/HRM/2015/9721 dated 7th September 2015, published in the Gazette of Pakistan October 2,2015. NTC has a mandate to carry out accreditation of all 4 year programs leading to technology degrees over a span of 16 years of learning. The Accreditation is to be used to ensure that quality technology education programs are run in all the universities in the country. The technology programs and respective Higher Education Institutions meet certain defined standards comparable to international standards. The technology education curriculum is aligned with guidelines of HEC and ensures Continual Quality Improvement culture, in the spirit of Outcome Based Education (OBE) system in conformance with Sydney Accord.

Vision of NTC

Transforming Pakistan through technology by ensuring high quality technology education and developing technologist for the benefit of society.

Mission statement of NTC

To Accredit Higher Education Institutions Programs for graduate technologists; stimulate quality, innovation in teaching and training, self-evaluation & accountability in Higher Education. Help Higher Education Institutions (HEI’s) to realize their academic objectives to produce high quality professional technologists for the benefit of society.

Objectives of NTC

Streamline and organize technology education at national level by identifying national and global needs, dovetailing technology professionals into public, private sector projects. Define and apply accreditation and certification standards for improving quality in technology education as well as providing certified professional technologists at regional and global level.

Composition of the Council

  1. Chairperson
  2. Vice Chairperson
  3. Representative of Higher Education Commission
  4. Representative of Ministry of Science and Technology
  5. Representative of Ministry of Information Technology and Telecommunication
  6. Representative of Ministry of Federal Education and Professional Training
  7. Representative of Ministry of National Health Services Regulation and Coordination
  8. Representative of Ministry of Industries and Production
  9. Representative of Ministry of Inter Provincial Coordination
  10. Representative of Ministry of Food Security and Research
  11. Representative of Pakistan Engineering Council
  12. Representative of Pakistan Medical and Dental Council
  13. Representative of National Agriculture Education Accreditation Council
  14. Representative of National Computing Education Accreditation Council
  15. Representative of National Vocational and Technical Training Commission
  16. Convener of Sub Committee on All Engineering Technologies
  17. Convener of Sub Committee on Life Sciences
  18. Convener of Sub Committee on Allied Health Sciences
  19. Convener of Sub Committee on Agriculture
  20. Convener of Sub Committee on Physics
  21. Convener of Sub Committee on Computing
  22. Vice Chancellor or his/her Representative of Public/Private Sector Universities that are offering Technology Programs, one from each province including Azad Jammu & Kashmir, Gilgit Baltistan and Federal
  23. Secretary of the Council, he/she will also be the secretary of all sub-committees related to different disciplines


Following Sub-Committees have been formed to cater to various Technology domains:

  1. Sub-Committee on All Engineering Technologies
  2. Sub-Committee on Life Sciences
  3. Sub-Committee on Allied Health Sciences
  4. Sub-Committee on Agriculture
  5. Sub-Committee on Physics
  6. Sub-Committee on Computing

Following Sub-Committees will be formed in near future

  1. Sub-Committee on Defence Technologies
  2. Sub-Committee on Technology and Industry Interface

Additional Sub-Committees will be formed as per emerging disciplines and degree programs pertaining to the Technology with formal recommendation of the Council and approval of the Controlling Authority

Structure of Sub-Committees

  1. Convener shall be from the field of technology program related to the same domain
  2. Secretary of the Council
  3. Representative of Higher Education Commission
  4. Dean/Chairperson of department of Universities that are offering Technology Programs related to specific field that are already identified in the scope, from province including AJ&K, Gilgit Baltistan and Federal
  5. Four members being Technologist and having at least ten years of university level teaching and research experience in the same domain
  6. One representative each from Provincial Technology Education & Vocational Training Authority (TEVTA), Including AJK & Gilgit Baltistan (For Sub-Committee on all Engineering Technologies only)


The following Degree Programs of the disciplines of all Engineering Technologies, Life Sciences, Allied Health Sciences, Agriculture, Physics and Computing shall fall in the purview of Accreditation

  1. B.Tech (Hons)
  2. B.Sc./BS Technology
  3. B.Sc./BS Animal Production and Technology
  4. B.Sc./BS Biotechnology
  5. B.Sc./BS Medical Laboratory Technology
  6. B.Sc./BS Emergency & Intensive Care Technology
  7. B.Sc./BS Medical Imaging Technology
  8. B.Sc./BS Dental Technology
  9. B.Sc./BS Operation Theatre Technology
  10. B.Sc./BS Mortuary Technology
  11. B.Sc./BS Food Sciences & Technology
  12. B.Sc./BS Nanotechnology
  13. B.Sc./BS Information Technology

Following Technologies will be added in due course in the scope of NTC

  1. Defence Engineering Technologies
  2. Chemical Engineering Technology
  3. Aviation Engineering Technology
  4. Marine Engineering Technology
  5. Natural Mineral Resources and Food Technologies
  6. Renewable Energy Engineering Technology
  7. Nuclear Engineering Technology
  8. Bio Medical Engineering Technology
  9. Space Engineering Technology
  10. Textile Engineering Technology
  11. Architecture Engineering Technology

Additional emerging disciplines and degree programs pertaining to the Technology shall be added to the list in future with formal recommendation of the Council and approval of the Controlling Authority